A Brief History of Udaipur
About thousand years ago Rangamati was the capital of Mog Kingdoms of Arakan. King of Tripura
Jhujaroofa defeated the Mog dynasty and captured Rangamati. He established his new capital at the
middle of 590 A.D. In the year 1567 the Chief of Army staff Gopi Prasad became the king of Tripura
after killing, the then King Ananta Manikya followed by a great conspiracy. Gopinath changed his name
as Uday Manikya. He also changed the name of the capital, from Rangamati to Udaipur. Upto 1760
A.D., Udaipur was the capital of Tripura. Maharaja Krishna Manikya shifted the state capital from Udaipur
to Old Agartala, i.e Udaipur was the capital of Tripura since 1170 years. From Jhujaroofa to Krishna
Manikya (Krishmani)---59 Nos. King ruled Tripura from Rangamati/Udaipur (ancient capital of Tripura).
In the year 1883 A.D for administrative facility, Maharaja Birchandra Manikya, created Udaipur Division
with Southern parts of the State. In the year 1901 A.D Udaipur Division Office was set up by the King in
the North Bank of Jagannath Dighi. First Public library was established at Udaipur in the year 1902.
Udaipur is famous in the State as well in the country from historical point of view. Udaipur is
famous for old temples and lakes. Old damage Palace, just half kilometer far from Udaipur city.
In the year 1949, after independent, Tripura joined with Indian teritory and Udaipur became a
Sub-Division. In 1st September 1970, Udaipur was treated as the head-quarter of South Tripura District.
In the year 1996 the State Government has declared Udaipur as Tourism Capital of Tripura.
Tripurasundari temple, Bhubaneswari temple, Gunabati Mandir, Shiva temple, Jagannath temple, Gopinath temple, Badarsahed Bari, Dutia Mandir all stands here as a witness of the ancient cultural heritage of Hindu & Muslims. Besides, lakes like Amarsagar, Jagannath Dighi, Dhanisagar (Dhanya Sagar) & Mahadeb Dighi (Bijoy Sagar) are there to add more beauty & splender to the city of lakes
Tripurasundari Temple is situated about 3 KM away from Udaipur Town. The temple was
established in the year 1501 A.D by the then Maharaja Dhannya Manikya. As per hindu mithology it is
one of the 51 Pithas of India where right foot of Mata Sati fell as a result of the cutting of the body of Mata
Sati into pieces with Sudarshan Chakra by Lord Vishnu. On the day & night of Dwali a big festival is held
here every year, which lakhs of pilgrims attended.
Bhubaneswari Temple is situated on the bank of river Gomati, just on the eastern side of
Udaipur city. The temple was built by Maharaja Gobinda Manikya (1662 - 76) A.D). Rabindranath
Tagore wrote the novel, ‘Rajarshi’, Drama ‘Bisarjan’ and ‘Mukut’ based on the story of Kingdom of
Gobinda Manikya and thus Udaipur became Internationally famour as the three books were translated in
different countries in different languages.
Tepania Eco Park, Satsangha Ashram, Ram Thakur Ashram, Ramkrishna Ashram, Ajachak
Ashram, Loknath Ashram & Town Masjid are also attraction for the people.
The King of Assam, Sri Swargadev Rudra Singha sent two Rajdoot (Representative) named Arjun Das Bairagi and Ratna Kundali to Tripura for gathering knowledge/informations regarding history and cultural heritage of the neighbouring State. The said two Rajdoot visted Tripura three times (1709--1715) & wrote an authenticated book ‘Tripura Desher Katha’,
where details information & description viz. social and cultural affairs of Udaipur (State capital) & the whole State was reflected.